Book Discussions for Tweens, Teens, and Adults!

W

Books Rock! and Open Forum Discussion Groups offer participants an opportunity to nerd out with like-minded readers

Rochester NY: Starting January 31st, tween and teens will have the opportunity to join other avid readers in in-depth discussion lead by an experienced, engaging facilitator in a new monthly book club. Recommended for ages 11-14, the Books Rock! book club will provide readers with an engaging environment to talk about their favorite books as well as provide input on future book selections.

Books Rock! will kick off on January 31st with Chris Fanning facilitating discussion on the Harry Potter series. Readers be warned, this discussion will cover all 7 books in the series. Topics may include: Horcruxes, good and evil throughout the series, and characters and creatures inspired by real-life people and animals.

On February 28th, readers will participate in discussion about the popular book recently turned major motion picture, The Hate U Give. Discussion will be facilitated by the author of Love Like Sky, Leslie Youngblood, who brings the unique experience of having personally interviewed author Angie Thomas.

Participants in the kick-off session on January 31st will have the chance to provide suggestions for the graphic novel book or series that will be discussed on March 21st with YA author Alex Sanchez, who has a graphic novel forthcoming in 2020.

The fun isn’t just for the teens, either. On February 18th, March 4th, and March 18th, adult readers who enjoyed Harry Potter, Game of Thrones, and dystopian books like The Handmaid’s Tale and 1984 will have the chance to engage in discussion with other like-minded adults over food and drink. Participants are invited to bring a drink or dish to pass and come prepared to enjoy no pressure book discussion.

All sessions of Books Rock! take place at Writers & Books at 5pm and cost $12 individually or $30 for the whole series. All sessions of Open Forum Discussion Group take place Writers & Books at 7:30pm and are free for Writers & Books’ members or $3 for the general public.

Media questions can be directed to Chris Fanning at chrisf@wab.org

###

Office Hours with Rebecca Rafferty

Winter 4 Building

Need some help editing your work?
Interested in learning best practices for pitching to the media?
Looking to get some pointers on journalistic writing?

We’ve got an opportunity for you.

Join Rebecca Rafferty (Arts & Entertainment Editor at CITY Newspaper) for short consultations in our cozy bookstore all week. Interested community members of all ages can do walk-ins or sign up for particular time slots. Feel free to bring your own writing for Rebecca to assist with editing and advice, learn about journalism writing and arts coverage.

To sign up in advance, call the Front Desk at 473-2590 ext 107 and reserve a half hour spot.

Hours:
Thursday 6-9 p.m. (3 hours)
Friday 5-10 p.m. off-site (Starry Nites) (4 hours)
Saturday 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. off-site (Starry Nites) (9 hours)
Sunday 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. (4 hours)
Monday 6 to 9 p.m. (3 hours)

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life? by Marijana Ababovic

I am teaching the Wild and Precious Life  workshop again this Saturday January 12, 2019 from 9 am – 1 pm. It is an annual workshop inviting you to consider the upcoming year, your goals and dreams.  This workshop started from my personal practice in 2007, when I spent a weekend with two friends writing what we called then our “Manifesto”.  This  process of writing my “manifesto”, putting down on paper who I am at this time and who I want to be, became a part of my life. This  morning, as this cold and snow finally slowed me down, I thought about why this workshop is important to me.

This is what I wrote:

“Whenever I read Mary Oliver’s question “Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?” I get this sense of urgency, a sense that I am not fully understanding preciousness and wild-ness of my life. That I am living too much on an automatic pilot and too small, echoing David Whyte’s words in the House of Belonging: 

“Sometimes it takes darkness and the sweet
confinement of your aloneness to learn anything or anyone that does not bring you alive is too small for you.” 

Yes, in this winter darkness and cold weather confinement, I  need to slow down, get off my everyday-ness and ask myself- what am I doing with my life?

Join me in this inquiry. The workshop is this Saturday, January 12, 2019 from 9 am – 1 pm.

Get more information and register here

On Writing Illness by Sarah Cedeño


Rafeal Campo writes: “To write about illness, to heed this terrible muse, is to reject distancing and to embrace empathy, for which there is no reward or claim on greatness other than perhaps the perverse joy of recognizing oneself as susceptible to the same foibles and neuroses.”

Writing illness can feel unapproachable to the caregiver, and intimidating and overwhelming to those who are ill. The course Writing Illness explores the concerns and rewards of writing about illness of all types—chronic, mental, terminal, invisible—and from all perspectives—patient, family, and caregiver, all while generating and discussing the writer’s material.

It took me ten years after my diagnosis to discover I already had material to write about my own illness, and once I did, my essay “The Healer” [link http://thejournalmag.org/archives/12924]

helped illuminate the course of my illness, but also put to words the alienation I felt as someone diagnosed with a chronic and ambiguous disease.

Sarah Cedeño’s work is forthcoming or has appeared in Punctuate, The Journal, 2 Bridges, The Pinch, The Baltimore Review, New World Writing, The Rumpus, Hippocampus Magazine, Bellevue Literary Review, and elsewhere. Sarah holds an MFA from Goddard College in Vermont and has served as editor of several literary magazines. She lives in Brockport, NY with her husband and two sons, and teaches writing at the College at Brockport and Rochester Institute of Technology. She’s at work on a collection of essays on illness titled The Visible Woman.

Barnes & Noble Book-fair for W&B

Hold off on that next Barnes & Noble purchase!

Don’t rush to buy that holiday gift!

Wait a bit longer to purchase the new album!

On December 14th Writers & Books will be participating in a Barnes & Noble Book-fair!

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 11.17.55 AM

What does that mean? We’ll explain:

On December 15th, head out to any participating Barnes & Noble nearby (that’s pretty much every store in the country that isn’t affiliated with a college). After you’ve perused the shelves of books, music, gifts and more, bring your purchases to the checkout. When you get there, tell the clerk that you are participating on behalf of Writers & Books.

You can also give them our ID number for the day: 12313185.

That’s it.

10% of your purchase on books, music, dvds, even cafe purchases, will go towards Writers & Books!

Can you use a gift card? Yes you can.

Can you use your educator discount and still support the book-fair? Sure can.

We’ll be camped out at the Barnes & Noble in Pittsford Plaza and will have readings, discussions, games and more going on throughout the day. All you need to do is come out and mention you’re there for W&B.

Can’t make it out on December 14th? More of an online shopper? Not a problem.

When checking out online, make sure to type in our ID number, 12313185, and Writers & books will still receive 10%! Even better, the online portion of the “W&B Book-fair” lasts for 5 days.

Questions? Call Chris Fanning at 473-2590 ext 104 or e-mail at chrisf@wab.org