fbpx
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Francesca Padilla

September 10 @ EST 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Free – $20

Seventeen-year-old Minerva Gutiérrez plans revenge on her predatory boss in this poignant and thrilling contemporary Young Adult novel about grief, anger, and fighting for what you deserve. Perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Erika L. Sánchez.

In the seaside town of Nautilus, Minerva Gutiérrez absolutely hates her job at the local ice cream stand, where her sexist boss makes each day worse than the last. But she needs the money: kicked out of school and stranded by her mom’s most recent hospitalization, she dreams of escaping her dead-end hometown. When an armed robbery at the ice cream stand stirs up rumors about money hidden on the property, Min teams up with her neighbor CeCe, also desperate for cash, to find it. The bonus? Getting revenge on her boss in the process.

“Propulsive, fearless, and filled with heart-aching revelations, What’s Coming to Me is a beautiful debut by a scorching new voice in YA fiction. This is a thrill ride of a coming-of-age story, one that grabbed me by the throat but most of all moved me to the core.” —Nova Ren Suma, New York Times bestselling author of The Walls Around Us

Francesca Padilla is a Dominican-American fiction writer born and raised in New York City. She is the recipient of a Walter Dean Myers Grant from We Need Diverse Books and holds a BA in Creative Writing from the State University of New York at Purchase College. She lives with her family in Rochester, New York.

Francesca Padilla will be in conversation with Sejal Shah.

Buy your books at Ampersand and join the conversation: 

What’s Coming to Me

 

 

 

 

 

This is a hybrid event available both in person and streamed virtually via Zoom.

Masks are required for on-site attendance.

Choose the ticket price that’s right for you: Free, $5, $10, $15 or $20

Tickets

The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
Tickets are no longer available

Details

Date:
September 10
Time:
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Cost:
Free – $20
Event Category:

Host

Writers & Books
Phone:
(585) 473-2590
View Host Website

Venue

Writers & Books
740 University Avenue
Rochester, NY 14607 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
(585) 473-2590
If you would like to make a request for any accommodation, please email us at accommodation@wab.org at least 10 days prior to the event or workshop.
0

Your Cart