fbpx

Evolution Community Read: Amiri Baraka’s Blues People: Negro Music in White America

Writers & Books Online 740 University Ave, Rochester, NY

Writer, director, and actor David Shakes will lead Evolution Community Read, a virtual community conversation on Amiri Baraka’s Blues People: Negro Music in White America. Writers & Books is  thrilled to partner with the Delta Nu Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. to showcase literature of the Black Arts Movement. The chapter’s Arts Committee […]

Peer Workshop on “Read & Write with James Whorton, Jr.: Dead Souls, by Nikolai Gogol”

W&B Online Class Rochester

Bring your rough (or polished!) draft in any genre to a free-flowing discussion inspired by James Whorton's master class on Nikolai Gogol's Dead Souls. Writing prompts to consider as you create: Write a quick scene in which an animal, human or nonhuman eats something it should not have eaten. Write it fast! (I am thinking of […]

So You’re a Neurodivergent Writer: Now What? All-Genre Workshop

W&B Online Class Rochester

Have you struggled with traditional writing advice? Do you hate feedback and revision of any kind? Do you find it difficult to call yourself a writer because of these things? I have some good news: there’s nothing wrong with you, and you’re more of a writer than you’ve been led to believe. How do I […]

Ravi Mangla: The Observant

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In a distant country, recently imprisoned filmmaker Vasant Rai is offered a chance at freedom. But the choice, he learns, comes at a very steep price. Ravi Mangla’s The Observant is a sharp-eyed literary thriller about freedom of expression under tyrannical regimes, authority and its adherents, and the demands of survival. "Short and powerful, Ravi […]

Francesca Padilla: What’s Coming to Me

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Seventeen-year-old Minerva Gutiérrez plans revenge on her predatory boss in this poignant and thrilling contemporary Young Adult novel about grief, anger, and fighting for what you deserve. Perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Erika L. Sánchez. In the seaside town of Nautilus, Minerva Gutiérrez absolutely hates her job at the local ice cream […]

Read & Write with Angelique Stevens: Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu

W&B Online Class Rochester

Nadia Owusu’s Whiting Award-winning debut memoir, Aftershocks, serves as the foundation for understanding the rich array of tools memoirists have to create complex narratives. We’ll explore such tools as metaphor, symbolism, and structure as we navigate the seismic upheavals of a life lived across several countries. Most recently chosen as one of Barack Obama’s favorite […]

Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu | Follow-up Virtual Peer Workshop

W&B Online Class Rochester

Bring your rough (or polished!) draft in any genre to a free-flowing discussion inspired by Angelique Stevens’s master class on Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu. Writing prompts to consider as you create: Writing prompts Owusu structures the “Liminal” chapter using the Blue Chair as the inciting incident and notes the time away from it; one day […]

Stephen J. West: Soft Boiled

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In his debut Soft-Boiled: An Investigation Of Masculinity and the Writer's Life, Stephen J. West seamlessly weaves together personal experiences, studies of detective thrillers, and critical texts on masculinity to offer an honest and moving journey towards self-discovery. Thought-provoking and lyrical, Soft-Boiled poses essential questions: What are the implications of creating art based on another […]

Chen Chen: Your Emergency Contact Has Experienced an Emergency

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Chen Chen will be in conversation with author and poet Peter Conners, Publisher and Executive Director of BOA Editions. Portrait by Margarita Corporan In his highly anticipated second collection of poems, Your Emergency Contact Has Experienced an Emergency, Chen Chen continues his investigation of family, both blood and chosen, examining what one inherits and what […]

Cynthia Dewi Oka: A Tinderbox in Three Acts

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Cynthia Dewi Oka will be in conversation with author and poet Peter Conners, Publisher and Executive Director of BOA Editions. In her fourth poetry collection, Cynthia Dewi Oka performs a lyric accounting of the anti-Communist genocide of 1965, which, led by the Indonesian military and with American assistance, erased and devastated millions of lives in […]

Cyrus Cassells: The World That the Shooter Left Us

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In the aftermath of the Stand Your Ground killing of his close friend’s father, Cassells explores the brutality, bigotry, and betrayal at the heart of current America. Taking his cue from Civil Rights- and Vietnam War-era poets and songwriters who inspired him in his youth, he presents a frank, bulletin-fierce indictment of unraveling democracy in […]

Matt Donovan: The Dug-Up Gun Museum

Writers & Books Online 740 University Ave, Rochester, NY

Matt Donovan will be in conversation with author and poet Peter Conners, Publisher and Executive Director of BOA Editions. The Dug-Up Gun Museum confronts our country’s obsession with guns to explore America’s deep-seated political divisions and issues linked to violence, race, power, and privilege. Taking its title from an actual museum located in Wyoming, this […]

Flash Workshop: Fiction and Nonfiction | Tyrese L. Coleman

W&B Online Class Rochester

Flash fiction and flash nonfiction are highly popular yet sometimes misunderstood genres. A common misconception is that flash is easy to write because it is short (1,000 words or fewer). But creating a successful piece of flash requires effort and practice. This workshop introduces you to what makes flash work as narrative– the form and […]

Woo | Quickbooks Integration Test

W&B Online Class Rochester

Flash fiction and flash nonfiction are highly popular yet sometimes misunderstood genres. A common misconception is that flash is easy to write because it is short (1,000 words or fewer). But creating a successful piece of flash requires effort and practice. This workshop introduces you to what makes flash work as narrative– the form and […]

Craig Morgan Teicher, editor: Little Mr. Prose Poem: Selected Poems of Russell Edson

Writers & Books Online 740 University Ave, Rochester, NY

Craig Morgan Teicher will be in conversation with author and poet Peter Conners, Publisher and Executive Director of BOA Editions. A seminal voice in American prose poetry from the sixties onward, Russell Edson’s (1935-2014) career is surveyed in a single volume edited for our times, presenting a new and contemporary view of a poet of […]

Nishant Batsha | Mother Ocean Father Nation

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Spanning from the lush terrain of the South Pacific to the golden hills of San Francisco, Mother Ocean Father Nation is an entrancing debut about how one family, at the mercy of a nation broken by legacies of power and oppression, forges a path to find a home once again. “Heartrending in its domestic drama, […]

Luther Hughes: A Shiver in the Leaves

Writers & Books Online 740 University Ave, Rochester, NY

Luther Hughes will be in conversation with author and poet Peter Conners, Publisher and Executive Director of BOA Editions. A Shiver in the Leaves is stunningly cinematic in its layered portrayal of the never-ending dualities of a queer Black poet’s life in the city. Hughes's interrogation of selfhood renders a sharply intimate and viscerally powerful […]

Carley Moore: Panpocalypse

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Carley Moore will be in conversation with Sejal Shah. It’s early summer in New York City, 2020. The city is largely shut down, and Orpheus—our queer, disabled, poly hero—is lonely, devoid of touch and community. Orpheus manages to buy a bike just before they sell out and takes to the streets looking for Eurydice, the […]

Alicia Puglionesi: In Whose Ruins

Writers & Books Online 740 University Ave, Rochester, NY

Popular narratives of American history conceal as much as they reveal. In Whose Ruins tells another story: winding through the US landscape, from Native American earthworks in West Virginia to the Manhattan Project in New Mexico, this history is a tour of sites that were mined for an empire’s power. Showing the hidden costs of ruthless […]

If you would like to make a request for any accommodation, please email us at accommodation@wab.org at least 10 days prior to the event or workshop.
0

Your Cart