fbpx

Reyna Grande: A Ballad of Love and Glory | Virtual Event

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Reyna Grande will be in conversation with María Amparo Escandón. A Long Petal of the Sea meets Cold Mountain in this sweeping historical saga following a Mexican army nurse and an Irish soldier who must fight– at first for their survival and then for their love–amidst the atrocity of the Mexican-American War.  Reyna Grande is […]

Tuhin Das: Exile Poems: In the Labyrinth of Homesickness

Writers & Books Streaming Event NY

Tuhin Das will be in conversation with Tony Leuzzi. Tuhin Das’s Exile Poems: In the Labyrinth of Homesickness, translated from Bengali by Arunava Sinha, comprises 65 poems written in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, after Das was forced to flee from his home in Barishal, Bangladesh. The collection chronicles his innermost thoughts, insuppressible fears, and poignant observations as […]

Ravi Mangla: The Observant

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In a distant country, recently imprisoned filmmaker Vasant Rai is offered a chance at freedom. But the choice, he learns, comes at a very steep price. Ravi Mangla’s The Observant is a sharp-eyed literary thriller about freedom of expression under tyrannical regimes, authority and its adherents, and the demands of survival. "Short and powerful, Ravi […]

Francesca Padilla: What’s Coming to Me

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Seventeen-year-old Minerva Gutiérrez plans revenge on her predatory boss in this poignant and thrilling contemporary Young Adult novel about grief, anger, and fighting for what you deserve. Perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Erika L. Sánchez. In the seaside town of Nautilus, Minerva Gutiérrez absolutely hates her job at the local ice cream […]

Stephen J. West: Soft Boiled

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In his debut Soft-Boiled: An Investigation Of Masculinity and the Writer's Life, Stephen J. West seamlessly weaves together personal experiences, studies of detective thrillers, and critical texts on masculinity to offer an honest and moving journey towards self-discovery. Thought-provoking and lyrical, Soft-Boiled poses essential questions: What are the implications of creating art based on another […]

Cyrus Cassells: The World That the Shooter Left Us

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In the aftermath of the Stand Your Ground killing of his close friend’s father, Cassells explores the brutality, bigotry, and betrayal at the heart of current America. Taking his cue from Civil Rights- and Vietnam War-era poets and songwriters who inspired him in his youth, he presents a frank, bulletin-fierce indictment of unraveling democracy in […]

If you would like to make a request for any accommodation, please email us at accommodation@wab.org at least 10 days prior to the event or workshop.
0

Your Cart