fbpx

A Wild Idea: How the Environmental Movement Tamed the Adirondacks

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Brad Edmondson's "A Wild Idea" shares the complete story of the difficult birth of the Adirondack Park Agency (APA). The Adirondack region of New York's rural North Country forms the nation's largest State Park, with a territory as large as Vermont. Planning experts view the APA as a triumph of sustainability that balances human activity […]

Memoir Workshop: Writing Scenes with Gail Hosking

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Memoir is not a report or a resume--readers want good sentences, the author’s retrospective wisdom, and vivid, detailed scenes that are anchored in place and time. A successful memoir functions as a three-dimensional stage that keeps the reader watching and listening. Come to this workshop to write and to delve deep into memory and the […]

Fiction Workshop: Muddling the Middle | Melanie Conroy-Goldman

W&B Online Class Rochester

Rising action. Mounting stakes. Reversals. Unmaskings. When a novel or a story doesn’t arrive or reach a powerful (and in some measure satisfying) conclusion, the fault is nearly always in the middle. In this workshop, we will consider one novella and three short stories to consider the all-important middle of a narrative. We’ll develop a […]

Poetry Workshop: Breathing Life into Our Writing

W&B Online Class Rochester

In this generative workshop, we'll explore the power of images in contemporary writing. Guided by discussions of craft and examples from notable poems and essays, writers in this workshop will gain tools to sharpen sensory details in their writing. Rage Hezekiah is a Cave Canem, Ragdale, and MacDowell Fellow who earned her MFA from Emerson […]

Read & Write with James Whorton, Jr. | Dead Souls, by Nikolai Gogol

W&B Online Class Rochester

For years I avoided Nikolai Gogol's 1842 novel Dead Souls because, knowing nothing but the title, I assumed it would be depressing and grim. To Flannery O'Connor, though, Gogol was "necessary along with the light." Why? Nabokov called him "the strangest prose-poet Russia ever produced."  Finally I dipped in and was astonished to find something […]

Peer Workshop on “Read & Write with James Whorton, Jr.: Dead Souls, by Nikolai Gogol”

W&B Online Class Rochester

Bring your rough (or polished!) draft in any genre to a free-flowing discussion inspired by James Whorton's master class on Nikolai Gogol's Dead Souls. Writing prompts to consider as you create: Write a quick scene in which an animal, human or nonhuman eats something it should not have eaten. Write it fast! (I am thinking of […]

So You’re a Neurodivergent Writer: Now What? All-Genre Workshop

W&B Online Class Rochester

Have you struggled with traditional writing advice? Do you hate feedback and revision of any kind? Do you find it difficult to call yourself a writer because of these things? I have some good news: there’s nothing wrong with you, and you’re more of a writer than you’ve been led to believe. How do I […]

Ravi Mangla: The Observant

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In a distant country, recently imprisoned filmmaker Vasant Rai is offered a chance at freedom. But the choice, he learns, comes at a very steep price. Ravi Mangla’s The Observant is a sharp-eyed literary thriller about freedom of expression under tyrannical regimes, authority and its adherents, and the demands of survival. "Short and powerful, Ravi […]

Francesca Padilla: What’s Coming to Me

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Seventeen-year-old Minerva Gutiérrez plans revenge on her predatory boss in this poignant and thrilling contemporary Young Adult novel about grief, anger, and fighting for what you deserve. Perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson and Erika L. Sánchez. In the seaside town of Nautilus, Minerva Gutiérrez absolutely hates her job at the local ice cream […]

Read & Write with Angelique Stevens: Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu

W&B Online Class Rochester

Nadia Owusu’s Whiting Award-winning debut memoir, Aftershocks, serves as the foundation for understanding the rich array of tools memoirists have to create complex narratives. We’ll explore such tools as metaphor, symbolism, and structure as we navigate the seismic upheavals of a life lived across several countries. Most recently chosen as one of Barack Obama’s favorite […]

Poetry Workshop: Getting Unstuck

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Writer’s Block: Is there such a thing? William Stafford’s solution: Ignore "high standards" and "get into action." Exercising our writing muscles every day can help prepare us for when the big poem needs to be born. In this workshop we’ll explore this and other ways to move through fear and the doldrums. Criticism—especially from the […]

Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu | Follow-up Virtual Peer Workshop

W&B Online Class Rochester

Bring your rough (or polished!) draft in any genre to a free-flowing discussion inspired by Angelique Stevens’s master class on Aftershocks by Nadia Owusu. Writing prompts to consider as you create: Writing prompts Owusu structures the “Liminal” chapter using the Blue Chair as the inciting incident and notes the time away from it; one day […]

Stephen J. West: Soft Boiled

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In his debut Soft-Boiled: An Investigation Of Masculinity and the Writer's Life, Stephen J. West seamlessly weaves together personal experiences, studies of detective thrillers, and critical texts on masculinity to offer an honest and moving journey towards self-discovery. Thought-provoking and lyrical, Soft-Boiled poses essential questions: What are the implications of creating art based on another […]

“I Can’t Hear You”: Developing Voice in Fiction | David B. Seaburn

W&B Online Class Rochester

What contributes to a writer’s voice? How is it different from a character’s voice? How does one create characters’ voices that are as real as one’s own? Photographer and writer Wright Morris said, “Voice is the presence of what is most personal to the writer. Through voice, the writer is invisibly omnipresent.” This workshop will […]

Cyrus Cassells: The World That the Shooter Left Us

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

In the aftermath of the Stand Your Ground killing of his close friend’s father, Cassells explores the brutality, bigotry, and betrayal at the heart of current America. Taking his cue from Civil Rights- and Vietnam War-era poets and songwriters who inspired him in his youth, he presents a frank, bulletin-fierce indictment of unraveling democracy in […]

Nishant Batsha | Mother Ocean Father Nation

Writers & Books 740 University Avenue, Rochester, NY

Spanning from the lush terrain of the South Pacific to the golden hills of San Francisco, Mother Ocean Father Nation is an entrancing debut about how one family, at the mercy of a nation broken by legacies of power and oppression, forges a path to find a home once again. “Heartrending in its domestic drama, […]

If you would like to make a request for any accommodation, please email us at accommodation@wab.org at least 10 days prior to the event or workshop.
0

Your Cart